Badminton SA



WA Satterley HallBadminton SA (incorporated as the South Australian Badminton Association) is the state association for the sport of badminton in South Australia. It is comprised of affiliated clubs and associations from both the country and metropolitan areas.

The South Australian Badminton Association was formed in 1930 with six clubs. Competition was initially played at the Wayville Show Grounds in Adelaide. In 1957, the Association moved to its present premises at the WA Satterley Hall in Lockleys.

Badminton SA runs graded inter-club competitions on weeknights at its Lockleys headquarters, in two seasons (Winter and Summer). Facilities at Lockleys include 7 courts, a pro-shop, bar and social area, showers and change rooms. The Association also runs the state’s premier tournaments at senior level (the SA Open and the City of Adelaide), as well as various age tournaments for juniors, and an inter-club junior competition, the Junior League.

WA Satterley HallThe SABA Board has responsibility for the overall running of the association. The Badminton Players Committee (BPC) answers to the Board, and has responsibility for the oversight of competition, country/city tournament and fund-raising. The Competition Committee answers to the BPC and is directly involved in organising the schedule for competition play and enforcing the match by-laws.

Information about the Association’s activities and events can be found by clicking on the appropriate links.


The modern game of badminton developed in the late 1800s at the Duke of Beaufort’s Badminton estate – however various versions of the game have been played for hundreds (if not thousands) of years previous to this in both Europe and Asia.

Fast facts:

  • Badminton is the fastest racquet sport, with the current maximum shuttle speed recorded at 332km per hour (March 2006).

Simplified Rules

For information regarding official badminton regulations click here.

A coin or shuttle is tossed up, following which the winner of the toss can select to either serve in the first game, or decide to receive and thus upon which end of the court to play on. If the winner elected to serve, the loser may choose sides. Should the winner elect to receive, the loser will thus have to serve.

Basic Aim
You win a rally if you hit the shuttle over the net and onto the floor of the opposing side's court. (see court layout below)

You lose the rally if you hit the shuttle into the net, or outside of the court. If the shuttle touches you or your clothing or if you hit it before it crosses the net, you also lose the rally.

The service court is slightly different for singles and doubles. For both doubles and singles however the serving is always done diagonally (ie, from the right service court to the left service court or vice versa).

In singles, the first serve at the start of the game is always taken from the right service court. The shuttle can fall anywhere in the opposing service court including the back tramline. (NB, in a game of singles, the side tramlines are considered "out").

In doubles, the first serve is again always on the right hand service court. For the serve, the shuttle must land between the front service line and the back service line (refer to court layout diagram).

In both games, the server must obey certain serving "laws". For example, the highest part of the racquet must always remain below the server's hand and waistline, thus forcing an underhand serve. Both server and receiver must not allow either of their feet to leave the court surface until the shuttle has left the server's racquet.

Sketch of badminton court

Matches comprise of the best of three games. Each game starts at 0-0 (traditionally called "love-all"). If the serving side wins a rally, it scores a point, and serves again but from the alternate service court. If the serving side wins the rally, they score a point and also win the right to serve.

21 points win a game. However, if the score reaches 20-20, one side must be ahead by 2 points in order to win the game. If the score reaches 29-29, the side which wins the next point wins the game.

And Finally...
Players change ends at the end of a game and when the leading score reaches 11 in the third game. A 60 second interval is allowed between the first and second games, and a 90 second interval before any third game.




  • Office for Recreation and Sport
  • West Torrens Council


Here are useful links to many other Badminton and Sport related sites....Enjoy!!!

Active Australia Provider

© South Australian Badminton Association Inc.